At a glance

The Faculty of Health Sciences
Hněvotínská 976/3
775 15 Olomouc
tel./fax: +420 585 632 852


The Faculty of Health Sciences is the youngest faculty at Palacký University Olomouc. It was established in 2008 to focus on the education of non-medical professionals in healthcare whose specifications comply with Act No. 96/2004, Czech Law Coll. The Faculty of Health Sciences was separated from the Palacký University Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, which had provided non-medical healthcare programmes until then.

The 1990s brought social changes, the acceptance of the Bologna Declaration, and innovations in requirements for healthcare professionals. Study programmes such as General Nursing, Midwifery, Physiotherapy, Radiology Assistance and many others have undergone a transformation in the Czech Republic. They have developed from a secondary school-type education into Bachelor’s programmes at universities. Their individual advancement has deepened worldwide and their existence within medical faculties is less common today. These study programmes have been proven to be more effective in terms of development priorities, education, and research when separated from the medical professions.

The Faculty of Health Sciences offers eight specialties in four study programmes, and a doctoral Nursing programme. Cooperation with the Faculty of Science has been in place in the Bachelor’s degree programme of Optometry for several years, and in the new programme of Orthoptics since the 2008/2009 academic year. The Faculty of Health Sciences has also been involved in the Master’s degree programme Teaching of Specialized Subjects at secondary nursing schools since 2008/2009.

Privacy settings

We use cookies and any other network identifiers on our website that may contain personal data (e.g. about how you browse our website). We and some of the service providers we use have access to or store this data on your device. This data helps us to operate and improve our services. For some purposes, your consent is required to process data collected in this way. You can change or revoke your consent at any time (see the link at the bottom the page).

(Essential cookies enable basic functions and are necessary for the website to function properly.)
(Statistics cookies collect information anonymously. This information helps us to understand how our visitors use our website.)
(They are designed for promotional purposes, measuring the success of promotional campaigns, etc.)